Time for Thorns

An independent view on life.

Sugar daddies…

leave a comment »

Back in the Dark Ages when I was in college,  I knew several students who had  sugar daddies   who enabled them to drive nice cars,  live off-campus, eat out often,  and not worry about tuition.   Only one of them was upfront about why she was doing it.   She was very clear about her goals and what she was providing in exchange for the money and gifts she received.   The others hedged everything,  and none of their families had the slightest notion of what their little darlings were doing to afford their college lifestyles.

I and many of my friends earned at least some of our own keep,  but not by sleeping with anyone.   I happened to land some tutoring jobs,  and some typing work,  because computers were rare then,  and an efficient, accurate typist could always find work in an academic setting.   It certainly never occurred to me to trade sex for money.   My apartment was far from fancy,  but it had the basics and my roommate and I kept it clean.   The only amenity I cared about was a secure lock on the door.   I wasn’t above picking up aluminum cans along the roadways to make a few extra bucks when needed.   I did have an professor offer me an A for sex,  which I declined,  preferring to show up for class and earn my B the hard way.

I can’t help but wonder what will happen to these young women when they get out into the real world.   I suspect most of them will spend the rest of their lives with a series of sugar daddies,  and like themselves less and less as a result.

 

 

Written by timeforthorns

May 30, 2016 at 10:12 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

